The Eastern Africa Power Pool (EAPP)

Recognizing the potential benefit from developing a regional power pool, the Energy Ministers from seven (7) Eastern Africa countries, namely: Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda and Sudan signed an Inter-Governmental Memorandum of Understanding (IGMOU) for the establishment of the Eastern Africa Power Pool (EAPP) on February 24, 2005.

The signature of the  IGMOU was followed by the signature of an Inter-Utility MOU by the Chief Executive Officers (CEOs)/Managing Directors of the countries’ nine (9) Power Utilities. This event heralded the formal launching of EAPP. Tanzania has consequently signed the relevant MOUs in March 2010 and became the member of EAPP.

In a further development, the Eastern Africa power pool was further adopted by Heads of State and Government at the 11th Summit of COMESA in Djibouti in November, 2006 as a specialized institution of COMESA for electrical power for Eastern Africa. The overall objective is to facilitate regional integration and hence to realize sustainable growth and development.

General Secretariat

EAPP General Secretariat is based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia with a mandate to facilitate bilateral and multilateral issues  to enable development of the power pool.

The mission of the EAPP is to make available for the Eastern Africa region, by the pooling of electrical energy resources in coordinated and optimized manner, an affordable, sustainable and reliable electricity in order to increase the rate of access to electricity by the population of the Region and thereby promote regional integration.

Specific objectives  include optimization of the usage of energy resources available in the COMESA region, increase power supply in the region, reduction of electricity production cost and creation of an environment that is conducive for investment.

EAPP Organs

To enable the functioning of EAPP , an Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)  was entered into both by the countries and respective utilities.  The MOU set out the basic structure and operations of EAPP.

The Conference of Ministers (COM) approved strategic road map and action plan to 2025 which is a  segmented progression and evolution of

Last update 1.1.2016

© Copyright 2016 - East Africa Power Pool, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia